skip to content

Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning

Photo of Pilkington Prize certificates lined up

The Centre for Teaching & Learning is delighted to announce the 2021 winners of the Pilkington Prize as follows:

Dr David Clifford Faculty of English Homerton College
Dr Elizabeth Fistein School of Clinical Medicine Lucy Cavendish College
Prof. Beverley Glover Department of Plant Sciences Queens' College
Dr Hannah Joyce Department of Engineering St John's College
Dr Nikhil Krishnan Faculty of Philosophy Robinson College
Prof. Clare Morris Institute of Continuing Education  
Mr Bill Nicholl Faculty of Education Homerton College
Dr Tina Potter Department of Physics Newnham College
Dr Dee Scadden Department of Biochemistry Downing College
Dr Peter Sloman Department of Politics & International Studies Churchill College
Dr Anne Swift Department of Public Health & Primary Care  
Mr Alan Thorne Department of Engineering  
Dr Edward Tipper Department of Earth Sciences St John's College

The Pilkington Prizes are awarded annually to members of staff in recognition of their contributions to teaching excellence. The awards were initiated by Sir Alastair Pilkington, who believed that the quality of teaching was crucial to the University's success.

A virtual ceremony is being planned for Tuesday 29 June, where we look forward to celebrating all thirteen Prize Winners.

You can learn more about the Prizes, including Winners from previous years, on the Pilkington Prize page.

Teaching & Learning Newsletter

Stay informed of upcoming events and hear about innovative practices across the University by subscribing to our newsletter.

Check out the latest issue.


Latest News

Places available at the upcoming "Inclusive Teaching & Learning in HE" conference

15 June 2021

Students and staff are cordially invited to the 2021 online conference, Inclusive teaching and learning in higher education: theory and practice . This conference, organised by the International Network of Inclusive Practice in coordination this year with CCTL and the DRC, will take place across the week commencing 21st...

The first phase of the Black Advisory Hub is live

17 May 2021

We are pleased to announce the launch of the Black Advisory Hub website . This website, comprising the first phase of the Black Advisory Hub rollout, is intended to act as a student-facing hub of information and support for Black students at the University of Cambridge. It is a dynamic resource which will continue to be...