skip to content

Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the Cambridge Higher Education Research Ethics Committee are:

  1. To receive details of any research involving human participants or personal data carried out by members of staff or students conducting research on teaching and learning matters, or research relating to student admissions including outreach/recruitment work with potential students, conducted or coordinated by institutions at the University of Cambridge not affiliated to a Department / Faculty, where such research might be considered to raise ethical issues
  2. To consider such research on behalf of the university and to:  give a favourable opinion of the research design and protocols as proposed; give a favourable opinon following advice or changes to the planned research; give a favourable opinion under certain defined conditions or specific requirements; or to refuse to endorse the research. 
  3. To advise, at its discretion, on the ethics of studies not satisfying the criteria in (1) above
  4. Where the committee considers that they are unable to provide the necessary level of review, to refer the case to a relevant School-level Research Ethics Committee
  5. Where the committee receives a project that falls under the Research Governance Framework for Health and Social Care, to refer the case to an NRES ethics committee
  6. To report annually to the University Research Ethics Committee


Committee Members

  • Dr Ruth Walker (Chair)
  • Dr Meg Tait (Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning)
  • Dr Sonie Ilie (Faculty of Education)
  • Dr Annette Mahon (Lucy Cavendish College)
  • Dr Emma Coonan (Anglia Ruskin University)
  • David Marshall (University Libraries)
  • Meg Westbury (Wolfson College)
  • Helen Duncan (Disability Resource Centre)
  • John Harding (Disability Resource Centre)
  • Dr Alexa Horner (Cambridge Admissions Office)
  • Alessandro Ceccarelli (President, Graduate Union)
  • Alistair Hyde (Education Officer, Cambridge University Students' Union)




Latest news

New teaching and learning newsletter launched

1 November 2019

The Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning has recently launched the new Cambridge Teaching & Learning Newsletter , in collaboration with our partners in the Technology-Enabled Learning Programme of the Cambridge University Press. The archives of the newsletter will shortly be available at the link above, as well...

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018-20 Teaching, Learning & Innovation Fund

1 October 2019

In the spring of 2019 applications were received for the Teaching, Learning and Innovation Fund awards. We were delighted by the enthusiastic response, with 17 applications received across the University's six Schools. Five * grants were awarded and our congratulations are extended to all the winners: Project Lead Project...