skip to content

Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning

Photo of Pilkington Prize certificates lined up

The Centre for Teaching & Learning is delighted to announce the 2022 winners of the Pilkington Prize as follows:

Dr Neil Davies Department of Earth Sciences Churchill College
Dr Robbie Duschinsky Department of Public Health & Primary Care Sidney Sussex College
Dr Owen Griffiths Faculty of Philosophy Churchill College
Dr Susan Jones Department of Physiology, Development & Neuroscience  
Mr Stephen McDonnell Department of Surgery  
Dr Peter McMurray Faculty of Music Queens' College
Dr Ella McPherson Department of Sociology Queens' College
Dr Dai Morgan Department of Engineering  
Dr Amanda Prorok Department of Computer Science & Technology Pembroke College
Prof. Christopher Tout Institute of Astronomy Churchill College
Prof. Stephen Watterson Faculty of Law Trinity Hall
Dr Tim Weil Department of Zoology Pembroke College

The Pilkington Prizes are awarded annually to members of staff in recognition of their contributions to teaching excellence. The awards were initiated by Sir Alastair Pilkington, who believed that the quality of teaching was crucial to the University's success.

We are looking forward to welcoming not only the 2022 Prize Winners but also those from 2020 and 2021 to a joint celebration in June.

You can learn more about this year's Prize Winners and the Prizes themselves on the Pilkington Prize page.

Teaching & Learning Newsletter

Stay informed of upcoming events and hear about innovative practices across the University.

Check out the latest issue.


Latest News

Registration is open for our Annual Meetings for directors of teaching and education, senior and postgraduate tutors

14 July 2023

Registration is now open for the Annual Meeting for Directors of Teaching & Senior Tutors, and for the Annual Meeting for Directors of Postgraduate Education & Postgraduate Tutors. These events provide opportunities for colleagues to share ideas, expertise and good practice, and to hear about and inform some of the...

Pilkington Prizes awarded in recognition of excellent teaching

26 June 2023

Last week we enjoyed a beautiful evening at Fitzwilliam College celebrating the 2023 winners of the Pilkington Prize on Thursday 22 June. Thirteen members of staff were celebrated for their outstanding contributions to education, with the Prizes awarded by Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education, Professor Bhaskar Vira. We were...