skip to content

Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning


We are very pleased that Dr Katharine Hubbard  has won the Higher Education Bioscience Teacher of the Year Award from the Royal Society of Biology. This is an outstanding achievement and we are very happy for her.

Katherine is a lecturer in Biological Sciences at the University of Hull, but was previously a Teaching Fellow in the Department of Plant Sciences at the University of Cambridge. Whilst at Cambridge, Katharine spearheaded the ‘Bridging the Gap’ student-partnership project, which developed material in Moodle to both prepare and consolidate the laboratory techniques learnt. This project was supported by a £10,000 grant from the University’s Teaching and Learning Innovation Fund, and has helped students during their transition from school to university. The project has helped to make students feel more confident in their laboratory techniques, which in turn leads to a better understanding of the content.

For more information on the award, please read the Royal Society of Biology’s news article.

For more information on the Bridging the Gap project, see our case study, or Katharine’s slides from our recent Teaching Forum. 

Latest news

Registration is open for the Cambridge Teaching Forum 2020

24 January 2020

Registration is now open for the Cambridge Teaching Forum 2020, which will be held on Tuesday 14 April at the Student Services Centre . The annual Cambridge Teaching Forum provides a stimulating environment for staff to learn about innovative approaches to higher education in Cambridge, meet colleagues and share ideas...