skip to content

Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning


The Centre offers warm congratulations to the winners of this year’s Student Led Teaching Awards, created to recognise the exceptional contribution from academic and non-academic staff to education at Cambridge.  These individuals have been nominated by students on the grounds of their inspiration and support.

Awards and Commendations will be presented at a ceremony on Thursday, 5 May.

Lecturer – Awards

Professor Eric Lauga

Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics / Trinity College


Dr Jackie Brearley

Department of Veterinary Medicine / Lucy Cavendish


Dr Richard Irvine

Social Anthropology


Dr Ruth Abbott

Faculty of English / Lucy Cavendish


Professor David Howarth

Department of POLIS


Lecturer – Commendations

Ms Amy Goymour

Faculty of Law / Downing College


Dr Ankur Barua

Faculty of Divinity


Dr James Fraser

Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience / Gonville and Caius


Professor Zoran Hadzibabic

Faculty of Physics / Trinity College



Supervisor – Awards

Dr Ankur Barua

Faculty of Divinity


Robert Dillon

DoS Physical Sciences Homerton College


Dr Shailaja Fennell

Centre for Development Studies / Jesus College


Dr Owen Saxton

Physics / Murray Edwards College



Supervisor – Commendations

Dr Alex Wilshaw

Division of Biological Anthropology / St John's College


Dr Matt Neal

Faculty of History / Fitzwilliam


Dr Tom Cordiner

Faculty of History / Queens' College


Wendi Bacon

Faculty of Biology


Dr John Fawcett

Computer Science / Churchill College


Dr John Lawrence

Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience / Sidney Sussex College



Student Support – Awards

Emma Rixon

Faculty of Education


Jan Leaver

Corpus Christi


Katheryn Ayres

Department of Veterinary Medicine


Darren Logan

Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute


Mary Anne Wolpert

Faculty of Education



Student support – Commendations

Dr Paul Elliott

Department of Zoology / Homerton College


Helen Jobson

Department of Chemistry


Simon Chapman

Department of Chemistry


Mary Kendall

Churchill College


Professor Claire Hughes

Centre for Family Research / Newnham College



More information can be found on the CUSU website.

Teaching & Learning Newsletter

Stay informed of upcoming events and hear about innovative practices across the University.

Check out the latest issue.


Latest News

Apply now for the Advancing Educational Practice Programme

9 April 2024

Over the course of this nine-month cohort programme you will explore theories of learning, develop a philosophy of teaching and learning, enquire into approaches to curriculum design, feedback and assessment, and expand your knowledge and practice through introductions to higher education research. You will work on a...

Congratulations to the winners of the 2024 Pilkington Prize

6 March 2024

The Centre for Teaching & Learning is delighted to announce the 2024 winners of the Pilkington Prize as follows: Dr Sui-Yen Ah-See School of Clinical Medicine Dr Lee de-Wit Department of Psychology Trinity Hall Prof. Steve Edgley Department of Physiology, Development & Neuroscience St John's College Dr Carl Henrik...